Marcus Rashford out of England’s Euro 2024 Qualifiers team

Share this story

England manager Gareth Southgate has been dealt a huge blow as in form Manchester United forward Marcus Rashford as well as two other players, have been ruled out of the team ahead of the start of the euro 2024 qualifiers due to injury.
Gareth Southgate named Marcus Rashford, Newcastle goalkeeper Nick Pope and Chelsea midfielder Mason Mount as part of his 25-man squad to face Italy and Ukraine.

Rashford, who has scored 19 goals since the restart of the league after the World Cup break, was injured in Manchester United’s 3-1 win over Fulham in the FA Cup on Sunday.

Nick Pope was also injured in Newcastle’s 2-1 win over Nottingham Forest at the weekend, while Mason Mount was unreleased by Chelsea as he continues to recover from an injury that saw him miss the blue’s 2-2 draw with Everton.
Meanwhile, the FA confirmed that no replacement would be done aside from Fraser Forster, who replaced Nick Pope.
England will face Italy in Naples on March 23, while Ukraine will be visitors at Wembley three days later.
With the FA’s decision not to replace the two injured outfield players, Gareth Southgate will bank on uncapped Ivan Toney, Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, and Harry Kane for the goals.

Phil Foden, Jude Bellingham, Kalvin Phillips, and Declan Rice are some of the other midfielders invited.
England’s Roster in full.

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester City), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United).

Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford).

Leave a comment