2021 Snooker English Open Qualifiers Preview and Fixtures

2021 Snooker English Open Qualifiers

Share this story

The upcoming 2021 English Open is going to be the fourth ranking event of the 2021/22 season, and the second event in the Home Nations Series. The tournament will take place from 1 to 7 November 2021 at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes, England. However, the qualifying matches for the tournament are set to take place from 17 to 22 September 2021 at the Metrodome in Barnsley, England.

Judd Trump is the current defending champion of the competition. In the 2020 English Open, Trump defeated Neil Robertson 9–8 in the final, after being 4–7 down.  The 32-year-old won his 18th ranking title, thereby equaling Neil Robertson and Mark Selby, and also became the first player to win three Home Nations titles.

The top snooker players are set to return, as they battle for a place in the 2021 English Open in November. Here is a preview of the 2021 English Open Qualifiers.

A total of 128 snooker players from around the world will take part in the qualifiers at the Metrodome in Barnsley, England. However, games involving the top 16 seeded players (including the defending champion), alongside two other matches involving wildcards, are to be played at the final venue, in the Marshall Arena.

World number 3, Ronnie O’Sullivan has been drawn to face Brazil’s top player Igor Figueiredo, while top female player Reanne Evans will go up against Barry Hawkins.

World Champion Mark Selby will take on Sanderson Lam, while British Open champion Mark Williams has been drawn against amateur Paul Deaville.

The qualifying sessions will the played at 10 am, 1 pm, 4 pm, and 7 pm (GMT) each day.
Here are the full fixtures for the qualifying matches:
17 September

10:00 Jimmy Robertson v Yuan SiJun

10:00 Xiao Guodong v Alfie Burden

13:00 Sam Craigie v Steven Hallworth

13:00 Wu Yize v Ashley Hugill

16:00 Gerard Greene v Liam Highfield

16:00 Zhou Yuelong v Dean Young

19:00 Alexander Ursenbacher v Ben Hancorn

19:00 Tom Ford v Sean Maddocks


18 September

10:00 Cao Yupeng v Mitchell Mann

10:00 Xu Si v Jamie Jones

13:00 Chang Bingyu v Dominic Dale

13:00 Zhang Jiankang v Jak Jones

16:00 Ashley Carty v Jordan Brown

16:00 Ben Woollaston v Jackson Page

19:00 Gary Wilson v Craig Steadman

19:00 Joe Perry v Soheil Vahedi


19 September

10:00 Robbie Williams v Peter Lines

10:00 Lei Peifan v Lee Walker

13:00 Liang Wenbo v Rory McLeod

13:00 Michael Holt v Chris Wakelin

16:00 Lukas Kleckers v Mark Davis

16:00 Ricky Walden v Michael Judge

19:00 Graeme Dott v Farakh Ajaib

19:00 Elliot Slessor v Michael Georgiou


20 September

10:00 Jamie Clarke v Zak Surety

10:00 Li Hang v Si Jiahui

13:00 Matthew Stevens v Peter Devlin

13:00 Ali Carter v Fan Zhengyi

16:00 Anthony Hamilton v Louis Heathcote

16:00 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh v Jamie O’Neill

19:00 Stuart Carrington v Hammad Miah

19:00 David Gilbert v David Grace


21 September

10:00 Joe O’Connor v Pang Junxu

10:00 Barry Pinches v Tian Pengfei

13:00 Oliver Lines v Zhang Anda

13:00 Ryan Day v Lu Ning

16:00 Kurt Maflin v Hossein Vafaei

16:00 Lyu Haotian v Martin O’Donnell

19:00 Martin Gould v Andrew Higginson

19:00 Ian Burns v Scott Donaldson


22 September

10:00 Simon Lichtenberg v Fraser Patrick

10:00 Nigel Bond v Chen Zifan

13:00 Fergal O’Brien v Iulian Boiko

13:00 Jamie Wilson v Robert Milkins

16:00 Zhao Xintong v Jimmy White

16:00 Michael White v Stephen Hendry

19:00 Sunny Akani v Ken Doherty.

Leave a comment