Sergio Ramos out of Spain’s Euro squad, as no Real Madrid player makes final list

Sergio Ramos Spain Euro 2020-21

Share this story

Real Madrid defender and skipper Sergio Ramos has been left out of Spain’s squad for the Euro 2020 which kicks off on the 11th of June.

Spain’s boss Luis Enrique omitted the 35-year-old from the list as the defender has only played once since the end of March.

Real Madrid defender has been struggling with injuries for a larger part of the season and he only playing 15 La Liga matches, 5 UEFA Champions League matches, and a single cup game in a season where Real Madrid ended trophies.

Enrique revealed that dropping the former FIFA World Cup and European champion was never an easy decision to make.

“It was a very difficult decision but he [Ramos] has not been able to play this season and has hardly trained since January,” Enrique said.

Meanwhile, Luis Enrique extended call-ups to Manchester City defender Aymeric Laporte who only had FIFA’s approval to switch from France to Spain recently.

Athletico Bilbao goalkeeper Unai Simon, Barcelona defender Jordi Alba, and Villarreal’s defender Pau Torres cut.

In the midfield, there was space for Barcelona’s Sergio Busquets, Pedro, and Atletico Madrid duo of Koke and Marcos Llorente.

Mikel Oyarzabal of Real Sociedad and Villarreal’s Gerard Moreno cut the La Liga without any Real Madrid player making the list.


Spain squad:

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), David de Gea (Manchester United), Robert Sanchez (Brighton)

Defenders: Jose Gaya (Valencia), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Pau Torres (Villarreal), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Eric Garcia (Manchester City), Diego Llorente (Leeds), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodri (Manchester City), Pedri (Barcelona), Thiago Alcantara (Liverpool), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Fabian Ruiz (Napoli), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid)

Forwards: Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Ferran Torres (Manchester City), Adama Traore (Wolves), Pablo Sarabia (Paris St-Germain).

Leave a comment