Norwich City Youngster Replaces Mason Greenwood In England’s U21 Euros squad

Mason Greenwood Manchester United

Share this story

Manchester United forward Mason Greenwood has dropped out of the England squad for the U21 Euros Championships due to an injury.

Greenwood picked up the injury in Manchester United’s 3-1 loss against Leicester City in the FA Cup on Sunday.

It is Greenwood’s first call-up to any of the national team since his dismissal from the Three Lions in September after breaching COVID-19 protocols.

He will be replaced by Norwich City’s Todd Cantwell in the squad. Max Aarons and Olivier Skipp who is on loan from Spurs are the other players from the Canaries in the young Three Lions Squad.

The competition sees the group stage being held from 24-31 March and the knockout stage from 31 May to 6 June in Hungary and Slovenia.

England’s first match of the competition will be against Switzerland on Thursday 25 March in Slovenia before facing Portugal three days later.

Meanwhile, other players in the forward line are Arsenal’s Eddie Nketiah and Emile Smith Rowe, PSV’s Noni Madueke, Chelsea’s Callum Hudson Odoi, and Rhian Brewster of Sheffield United.


England U21 squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Josef Bursik (Stoke City), Josh Griffiths (Cheltenham Town, on loan from West Bromwich Albion), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United).

Defenders: Max Aarons (Norwich City), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Marc Guehi (Swansea City, on loan from Chelsea), Lloyd Kelly (AFC Bournemouth), Ryan Sessegnon (Hoffenheim, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Steven Sessegnon (Bristol City, on loan from Fulham), Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham Hotspur), Ben Wilmot (Watford).

Midfielders: Todd Cantwell (Norwich City), Tom Davies (Everton), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Conor Gallagher (West Bromwich Albion, on loan from Chelsea), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), Dwight McNeil (Burnley), Oliver Skipp (Norwich City, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur).

Attackers: Rhian Brewster (Sheffield United), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Noni Madueke (PSV Eindhoven), Eddie Nketiah (Arsenal), Emile Smith Rowe (Arsenal).

Leave a comment