Chelsea star Eden Hazard scoops another top award

Chelsea Eden Hazard 2015 Footballer of the Year

Share this story

Chelsea star Eden Hazard has been voted the 2015 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The 24-year-old has already picked up the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award for his exploits this season, with the Belgium international also winning the Premier League and Capital One Cup.

Hazard beat off competition from the likes of Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Chelsea captain John Terry to walk off with the FWA accolade.

FWA chairman Andy Dunn, who writes for the Sunday Mirror, said: “The list of truly world class players on the Football Writers’ Association roll of honour is a long one and Eden Hazard is a worthy addition.

“A creator, a goalscorer and the hardest of workers, Hazard has been a constant source of threat for the Barclays Premier League champions.

“But it is not just his trickery, his pace, his artistry and his marksmanship that make Hazard such an invaluable component of Jose Mourinho’s Chelsea squad, it is his durability.

“Hazard has started all 36 Premier League matches and, considering the particularly close attention he receives from opponents, that is a feat in itself.”

Last season’s FWA award was won by Luis Suarez, then of Liverpool, while the last Chelsea player to win to receive the honour was Frank Lampard for his exploits during the 2004-05 season.

Leave a comment